Skip to main content

Advisory Board

The Civil Engineering Advisory Board is comprised of civil engineers from various educational and industrial backgrounds, the majority of whom are WVU Tech alumni. As a program constituent, the Civil Engineering Advisory Board provides input to our curriculum and our program educational objectives.

Advisory Board meetings are held once every semester. The terms of the members are staggered with four members typically rotating off the board each year. Members can serve multiple terms.

The Civil Engineering Advisory Board includes the following members:

Robert Belcher

Robert G. (Greg) Belcher, P.E. , Vice President, Chapman Technical Group

Mr. Belcher is known for his expertise in engineering potable water and wastewater systems. He oversees all engineering work at Chapman Technical Group (CTG), which is now a division of GRW, a Lexington, KY-based E/A firm. He has been with the CTG in its St. Albans, WV office since 1987, and began practicing civil engineering upon his graduation from West Virginia Institute of Technology in 1983.

Jeff Beverly, P.E., Project Manager – Midwest, CDI Corporation

advisory board member, Jeff Beverly

Mr. Beverly has over 30 years of experience working with various engineering and construction projects around the United States and overseas. Project work has provided a broad range of experience. Duties and responsibilities consist of working within and/or leading a team; planning, organizing, implementing and completing complex work tasks; managing multiple tasks simultaneously; and preventing or solving problems. Mr. Beverly is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers and is a registered professional engineer in the states of Tennessee and West Virginia. He holds a bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering at West Virginia University and an A.S. in Forest Technology and Land Surveying from Glenville State College.

Randy Epperly, HNTB

Rodney Holbert, P.E., Burgess & Niple Inc.

Advisory board member, Rodney Holbert

Mr. Rodney Holbert joined Burgess & Niple (B&N) in 1985 and is the Director of B&N’s Parkersburg, WV office. His experience includes serving as project manager on Indefinite Delivery/Indefinite Quantity contracts for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the U.S. Forest Service, U.S. Fish & Wildlife, West Virginia National Guard, and West Virginia Department of Transportation. Mr. Holbert provides engineering and project management services for various projects, including highway and bridge designs, bridge inspection and rehabilitation, hydraulic steel structures, railroads, hydraulic studies, utility improvements, storm sewer evaluations, building and site development, and construction services. Mr. Holbert holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from West Virginia Institute of Technology and a Master’s degree in Business Administration from West Virginia University.

Dave Meadows, P.E., P.S., Regional Manager – Southwestern Region, Triad Engineering, Inc.

Advisory board member, David Meadows

Mr. Meadows brings over 40 years of leadership, design and project management experience to Triad Engineering. Mr. Meadows joined Triad in 2013 to provide management to the southwest region which includes the southern West Virginia area and the Athens, Ohio office. Prior to coming to Triad, he served in a number of technical and leadership positions at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Huntington District. His expertise includes civil design, geotechnical engineering, construction management, surveying, environmental remediation and water resources engineering. He is active in the following organizations: ASCE, Fellow SAME, USSD, ASDSO, WVSPS, Tau Beta Pi, Phi, Beta Phi, Engineer’s Club of Huntington.

Larry Nottingham, NGE, LC

Radhey Sharma, Professor and Chair, Dept of Civil and Environmental Engineering, WVU

Advisory board member, Radhey Sharma

Professor Sharma is Chairman of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at West Virginia University. Prior, he served on the faculty of Louisiana State University (LSU) and Iowa State University. At LSU, he was a Roy Paul Daniels Distinguished Professor. He is internationally recognized for his research and serves on the editorial boards of several international journals. He received a prestigious Telford Medal from the Institute of Civil Engineers in London. He has published numerous papers in international journals and conferences. He serves on national and international committees and delivered several keynote and invited lectures worldwide. Dr. Sharma’s research program is focused on sustainable civil infrastructure. His other research interests include energy engineering; gas hydrates; sustainable sequestration; and bio-and nano-modification of materials. Dr. Sharma studied at the University of Oxford for his doctorate.

Carol A. Stevens, P.E., F. ASCE, SECB, CAS Structural Engineering

David Tabor, P.E., President & Owner, American Home Inspectors & Engineering Assessments, Inc.

Advisory board member, David Tabor

Mr. Tabor has over thirteen years of experience working first in the Highway Design field as a Project Engineer and progressing in responsibility to Project Manager. The general scope of this work included, but was not limited to: geometric design, drainage, environmental permitting, slope design, quantity and cost estimating, signage, maintenance of traffic and management activities.

Since 2007, Mr. Tabor has functioned as the President/Owner of American Home Inspectors & Engineering Assessments, Inc. In this capacity, Mr. Tabor has performed engineering assessments, consulting and expert witnessing in foundation damage/settlement cases, residential construction defects, moisture damage/water intrusion, probable cause of damage, estimated repair or replacement costs and competency/code compliance of original designs. He holds a bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering from WVU Tech (1999) and a master’s in Civil Engineering from Marshall University (2003).

Melissa Thompson, P.E., Associate Professor, BridgeValley CTC

Robert C. Williams, Ph. D., Vecellio & Grogan, Inc.